6 weeks left in the first semester

Finally, a moment to breathe. I’ve been putting in extra hours at work lately so I haven’t had much time for anything, let alone updating this blog. Classes were cancelled this week but we still have labs so I’m not quite off the hook yet. I signed up for winter term classes and the spring semester as well, it’s not going to be easy. Winter term is about a month long and my cohort has to take two classes. It’s hard enough cramming one 16 week class into 5 weeks but two! One of the classes is online, which sounds good to some students but in my experience it is a lot harder to get an A in an online class… though it’s always challenging to get an A in nursing school. Spring semester will be intense. 5 classes and 4 of them have weekly simulation lab components. I’m not sure how I’m going to pull off working during that time period, but I can’t afford to quit. After that, clinicals in the summer. I’m getting ahead of myself, though.

This semester has flown by but at the same time I feel like it should be over with by now. I’m not expecting straight As, but I’m expecting a couple. If I could make Dean’s List it would be a dream come true. I’ve been at work anywhere from 16-28 hours each week.  (I know, quite a variance.) I attend 2 labs for about an hour per lab every week. In class time is around 10 hours per week, though I am taking an online class too that I’m a bit behind on video lectures. As far as studying goes, I do as much as I can. I don’t have the kind of job where I could study at work, but I don’t work on the weekend so I try to utilize that time for studying about every other weekend. The other weekends I will visit my family or spend time with my friends. If I had to estimate, I study or work on assignments at minimum 2 hours a day. My longest stretch was 10 hours in one day but that was mostly finishing an assignment.

As hard as it has been, I know it’s worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

