“life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes…”

This semester has really taken off! Though I’m still at the beginning of this journey, I already feel like a completely different person. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always just skated by academically. I put in minimal effort, only studied for finals, and skipped class whenever I could. Though I was far from a star student, I still managed to get As and Bs in high school, plus maybe a couple Cs in college. I was well aware this method was not going to fly in nursing school, especially not for an accelerated BSN program. I had no idea if I would be able to actually put forth the effort and try. I’m only two quizzes and one test in, but I’ve gotten As on everything.

I’ll admit most of the credit goes to my new cohort friends. It turns out that sitting next to the girl I barely knew from high school was a great move. She introduced me to her very distant acquaintance also in the program and the three of us have been studying diligently together ever since. I’ve never studied in a group before, but we really hold each other accountable when we meet up and via text. During my first degree, I barely spoke to my classmates at all but I couldn’t imagine getting through any of this content on my own. We each have our strengths in certain areas, but these girls are very smart. Working with them challenges me to do better and it’s really paying off!

Leave a Reply

