All signs point in this direction

The first two weeks of classes have whizzed by. I’ve already done my first simulation lab, taken two quizzes, and have been studying my ass off. I truly have never worked this hard for anything academic in my life but I want to do it right this time. I have a little group to study with between classes and it’s paying off. I’ve never been one to obsess over grades, but I got a 100% on my first quiz. I’m finding that while a little effort has always gone a long way, 100% of your effort will take you much further.

My work schedule is a little different with more anticipated changes. The speech language pathologist I work under has been a great mentor and source of guidance. Being a member of the therapy department instead of the clinical staff has been challenging, especially because I work after standard office hours, but it is a rewarding endeavor. We have a lot of ideas in progress right now, so I’m just waiting for it all to get approved and take off.

Unfortunately, I also got some terrible news this week that my little sister was in the hospital. It was a rough situation and it was horrible to see her in so much pain, though I visited as much as I could. I am grateful that she is going to be okay. As awful as it was, this unfortunate circumstance gave me an opportunity to reflect on my path and find the silver lining: I truly have found my calling. Though I rarely let anyone see my softer and compassionate side, after this experience I feel certain that I have what it takes to become a nurse from my head to my heart.

Leave a Reply

